Mom's Release

The trials and tribulations of a mom of four great kids!

Teenager time zone

on June 17, 2011

I have made an amazing discovery…a new time zone…the teenager time zone! There have been many recent events that have led to my discovery today (so many in fact, that I’m a little surprised it took me so long!), but it was today’s events that seemed to really bring it home for me.

My 13 year old son had a dentist appointment this morning at 8:30, for which I began ‘warning’ him about late yesterday afternoon…”you have a dentist appointment first thing tomorrow…8:30…you’ll have to make sure you get up and ready early…” He replied positively every time, so I thought all was good. He got up this morning (about half an hour AFTER I woke him, but still with enough time to get ready), ate his breakfast (we’re still good by this point) and then his attention is grabbed by all of the “shenanigans” in Vancouver after last night’s loss to the Bruins. This is when things start to take a turn. So I now start reminding him about his appointment (easily bordering on nagging now) and try to get him back on track because now, we’re really down to the wire. I go to get dressed and ready myself and come out calling to him that we have to leave. I can’t find him. I call around the house and go downstairs and find him in the laundry room, putting on a “quick wash”!! I tried to nicely tell him that there was no wash cycle quick enough to be ready in the 5 minutes we had left. At this point, I should point out, to his credit, my 13 year old (and my 11 year old, too) does his own wash and is very good at it. These are the types of things I try to remember when I feel like my head is going to pop off from things they say/do. When he finally gets into the car, we have approximately 3 minutes to get to the dentist, who is approximately 10 minutes away and during the drive, I go into a bit of a tirade about being responsible and being on time, etc. He’s very quiet and looking out the window, so I’m hoping he ‘s just “taking it all in”….we pull up to the office and he looks at me and asks, “Do you have any floss?” Oh my!

So now, while I park the car and try to understand how someone so intelligent could be so totally in their own world(!), my mind (as it often does lately) zooms back to when I was his age. In my head, fuzzy memories are collecting of my dad sitting in the car beeping the horn, while I’m still in the bathroom, getting spiffed up for school. Ok, so perhaps, the teenager time zone isn’t such a new discovery after all….!

Any thoughts?

