Mom's Release

The trials and tribulations of a mom of four great kids!

Five Things They Don’t Tell You in Marriage Course

on February 3, 2014

5ThingsMarriageCourse.jpgAs I sit here listening to my 16 and 14 year olds telling us (at the same time) their version of what just transpired upstairs, when one told the other to move from one chair because he needed to sit there to use the outlet next to said chair to charge his phone and she told him to find another outlet because she was there first (yes, I am serious!), I find myself inspired to write a post about what is going through my head right now….all the things they didn’t tell us in that marriage course we took before we tied the knot!

5 things they didn’t tell us in the marriage course:

  1. Babies are cute, but don’t be fooled – they will turn into teenagers and the cuteness doesn’t last nearly as long as the teen years!
  2. Teenagers will argue their point until the cows come home, regardless of how unbelievably WRONG they are, especially if it means out-doing their oh-so-close-in-age sibling!
  3. Did I already mention they are cute when they’re babies…?
  4. Don’t be fooled by your seemingly logical, considerate, compassionate children when they are small…all of that will fly right out the window once they reach their teens!
  5. They might get along when they’re little, but it’s highly unlikely that will continue once they become teenagers!

So, when you find yourself, like me, in these kinds of situations you never felt your (perfect) family would ever be in, do as I do:  take a deep breath…close your eyes…and stick your fingers in your ears as tightly as possible to block out the noise!  And a little vino never hurts, either!

3 responses to “Five Things They Don’t Tell You in Marriage Course

  1. I am enjoying my son being four, knowing he might someday become a teenager similar to the one I once was. I remember these arguments of which you speak. 🙂

    • Suzanne B says:

      So true, Deborah! I find myself apologizing to my parents all the time these days! Lol! I love my teens, but I sometimes miss the simplicity of life when they were younger…as opposed to the simplicity of their arguments!

  2. Kate says:

    I can only imagine! Lol the bright side is that lots of teen siblings who fight with each other all the time usually grow out of it – and will end up fighting FOR each other! Case in point- me and my older sisters. I teach high school and teenagers are a TOUGH, unpredictable bunch! But most grow up to be nice human beings!

Any thoughts?

